skip navigation


By Admin, 09/06/13, 9:30AM EDT


Cowlishaw, Dykstra, Robinson Honored

TAMPA, FL – (Friday, September 6, 2013) – USL PRO honored its top performers today, recognizing Richmond Kickers head coach Leigh Cowlishaw as Coach of the Year, Andrew Dykstra as Goalkeeper of the Year and Nate Robinson as Rookie of the Year.

Cowlishaw led the Kickers to a 15-1-10 regular season record, 17-2-11 overall during the 2013 campaign and set a USL PRO record by going 22 games without defeat en route to the club’s sixth Regular Season Championship title.  In 14 seasons at the helm, Cowlishaw has amassed an overall record of 222-107-84, qualifying for the postseason 13 times and reaching the title match six times (2002, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009 and 2010) while claiming the league crown twice (2006 and 2009). 

Dykstra joined the Kickers for much of the season on loan from the club’s MLS affiliate, D.C. United and claimed the USL PRO Goals-Against Average award as he finished the regular season with a GAA of 0.863. Named to the USL PRO All-League First Team, Dykstra was a key factor for the stingiest defense in USL PRO, leading the league with 10 shutouts in 22 appearances, posting a 13-1-8 goalkeeper record en route to the Kickers’ USL PRO Regular Season Championship.

Robinson led the team in assists with nine through the regular season, adding a 10th assist during U.S. Open Cup play.  Contributing four goals in his debut season, he finished third on the team in scoring with 18 points overall.  After spending the 2012 season with the Michigan Bucks of the USL Premier Development League, the Novi, MI native impressed at the Kickers preseason combine and signed with the team just 24 hours before the 2013 season opener.

Pittsburgh’s Jose Angulo took home the Most Valuable Player Award while Colin Falvey of the Charleston Battery claimed the Defender of the Year honors.  Votes for the USL PRO honors are submitted by USL PRO team management, and finalists are determined based on total All-League votes. 

Most Valuable Player Finalists
Jose Angulo, Pittsburgh Riverhounds
Joseph Ngwenya, Richmond Kickers
Jamie Watson, Orlando City

Rookie of the Year Finalists
Nate Robinson, Richmond Kickers
Daniel Steres, Wilmington Hammerheads
Donald Toia, Phoenix FC Wolves

Defender of the Year Finalists 
Colin Falvey, Charleston Battery
Rob Valentino, Orlando City
William Yomby, Richmond Kickers

Goalkeeper of the Year Finalists
Andrew Dykstra, Richmond Kickers
Nick Noble, Harrisburg City Islanders
Eric Reed, Charlotte Eagles

Coach of the Year 
Patrick Bal, Dayton Dutch Lions
Mark Steffens, Charlotte Eagles
Leigh Cowlishaw, Richmond Kickers